American Express: The beginning

AmericanExpress-Co-logo

As I walked towards the building that I would be entering to start my internship, I noticed my pace slowing down. I was nervous. I was having trouble processing that today was the day and this experience would give me a real insight of what it’s like to have a job and gain very important skills that would be beneficial to me in the future.

The first thing I did when I walked into the building was head over to the Visitor’s Reception. I’m prepared, I thought to myself. I have my ID and I know what floor I’m going to and where my cubicle is located.

“Do you have the name of the person that I can call so they can come down and pick you up?” the receptionist asks me. Shoot. I forgot the name of my manager. Nice one, Mitzy. I think and I think and when it finally comes to me, I inform the receptionist and the receptionist calls but there is no response.

“Okay, she is not picking up but what you can wait over there…” she gestured towards the left side of the area “… and send her email her an email and tell her you’re here.”

Eventually, my manager comes downstairs and since we’re unable to get our ID’s at the moment, we head down to cafeteria for breakfast. I settle for jello since I wasn’t feeling that good. All the interns who are also interning at American Express but  on different teams and the managers sit down together at one table. We eat in silence but then eventually, the ice breaks and then we head to our floor. Our manager informs us of what the day will consist of. Training. Before getting our hands dirty (you know what I mean), we’re required to do training, etc. And that’s basically what we’ve been doing so far. Training. Training. Training. And of course, our lunch breaks.

Did I mention? My manager got us sushi! That was really nice.

I also had my first phone call on Wednesday with one of the engineers that I will be working with. And let me tell you, I although it was nerve wracking because I had no idea what he was talking about half the time, I pulled through.

Overall, it’s been good so far and I’m looking forward to what’s coming.

