One Week left at About.com

As you can tell by the title, my internship experience is sadly coming to an end. This had been my third week interning at About.com and it has been really fun. A few days ago, I had gone out to eat with the other interns and the COO of About.com at a Japanese restaurant called Haru. It was an amazing opportunity because I was able to converse with a person who provided much insight in my future career as a computer programmer. Even just the other day, I was in a meeting with the talent acquisition manager who guided me through the process on how he hires people. He looked over my resume and helped me to greatly improve it. Now after changing it, he says that he loves it and that just put a smile on my face because I knew that I was now one step closer to being a fully functioning member of the work force.

Working on this project has been a great exercise for me and Jovan, my fellow intern from ScriptEd, because it has immensely improved our skills as programmers. We have finally gotten the API’s from the backend team and are now implementing them into our code. Sure it is hard work, but at the end of the day it has a great test for our skills. I’m eagerly anticipating the next week and I’m prepared to meet all the challenges head on that are thrown my way.

Leave a comment

