Week of nervousness — C What?

It’s not as bad as I thought it would be to wake up early in the morning and go to Ghostery.  Simply because of how cool of a workplace Ghostery is, it was great to have cool workers and all the opportunities for learning. In my second day, Justine, the person I am working with, asks me if there’s any language I am interested in. After thinking for a long minute, I come up with my answer “database”.  He replies, “That’s not a language, just so you know. *facepalm* So then you should come up with an idea for a website you wanna make. Make the database for it and then I can teach you how you can create an API for it using C Sharp.” I didn’t understand what he actually meant. My reply this time was even more terrible, “C WHAT?” Then he explains for the second time what he wants me to do. It sounded really complicated but it got much simpler as I worked on it for four days. I started learning about C Sharp after finishing laying out my html, css, and my front-end js. Justine is a great funny teacher. Another cool thing about Ghostery is that about 12-15 people watch the FIFA World Cup as a group in one room which is really exciting since there’s supporters for different countries. Even though watching football at Ghostery wasn’t really a good experience for me as I had to watch two of my favorites, Brazil and Netherlands get knocked out, I enjoy watching the workers talk about who will win. But at the end of the day, all of them are awesome programmers and friendly people who work together to make Ghostery successful and a really fun company to work in.

Leave a comment

